Wareham Town Council Award Ceremony

Awards for Volunteer of the Year, for Honoured Townsmen and for Long Service

Due to the pandemic, Wareham Town Council had not been able to present any awards for the last two years so, on Wednesday 6th April, at the Annual General Meeting, it was decided to put this right!

All the pictures on this page were by Sue Kemp who was the official photographer on the night, (apart from the one of Joyce Spiller which was taken on a previous occasion).

All of course were very worthy recipients of these awards and were greeted with enthusiastic applause by everyone gathered for this special annual meeting in the Town Hall. All awards were presented by Malcolm Russell, the Deputy Mayor of Wareham.

Volunteer of the Year Award 2020

The recipient was Joyce Spiller for her unfailing, dedicated service to the Purbeck Youth and Community Foundation for many years.

Volunteer of the Year Award 2021

The recipient was Ross Hooper for his amazing contribution to keeping the town’s floral displays in perfect condition, delighting residents and visitors alike.

Honoured Townsmen

There were two recipients of this award for 2021. Dr David and Mrs Hilary Evans for their valuable contributions to the Town, particularly with reference to the Rex Cinema, Wareham Town Trust and Wareham Town Councils Neighbourhood Plan.

Long Service Award

For supporting many mayors in his 50 years of service as Sergeant at Mace, Mr Nigel Spiller was presented with a long service award.

Leave a Comment

For more about Wareham go to – www.VisitWareham.com – a visitor guide and website for Wareham

Scroll to Top